Skip to content

Text size:

Contrast:

6 hours per week in Sandown, 393795, Reposted 09.10.19

About Me
I am a 45 year old man who has recently moved to the island. I live with my mum in a large house where I have a self -contained flat. I am profoundly deaf, blind in one eye and have a diagnosis of mild learning disability and Aspergers Syndrome. I communicate by using British Sign Language (BSL). I am independent in all areas of my personal care.
I have an assistance dog whom I adore and I enjoy taking him for his twice daily walks. I also work part time – 3 days a week in the kitchen of a local beach front café . Before I moved to the IW I worked for many years in the kitchen of a large hotel where I was supported by my employment support worker. I need additional help as I struggle to read, write and manage my finances.
I am very active and my hobbies include walking, running, swimming and going out to cafes. I don’t know many people yet but would like to attend parkrun each Saturday as a way of keeping fit and and socialising.
I would also like support to cook an evening meal one night a week. This will involve shopping for the ingredients beforehand.

What support I require
My mum has been supporting me to socialise but having a PA would give her a break.
I would like a PA who is able to use BSL and who enjoys being active. The hours of support I need are Sat mornings for Parkrun (3 hours) and one eve a week (negotiable day/time) for 3 hours. Weekly total of 6 hours.

Genders which may apply for this job – Any

Hours per week – 6 hours per week

Hourly rate – £11 per hour, £10 for employed PA's

Area – Sandown

Driving licence required – Yes

Employer has pets – No

Employer is smoker – No

Noticeboard Advice

For your privacy and protection when applying for a job online:

  • Never provide credit card or bank account information, or perform any sort of monetary transaction.
  • By applying for a job using this site you are agreeing to comply with and be subject to the terms and conditions for use of this site.